Graf SchlittenOriginal Davoser (1865), Emanuel Heinz
Two wooden runners joined by a pull-bar for stability, and the word ‘DAVOS’ branded on the central wooden slat: this simple design makes the Davos the most iconic sledge in the world. In 1865 Emanuel Heinz opens his workshop and is arguably one of the first manufacturers of the Davos sledge. The sledge was given its name at the first toboggan race in 1883 in Davos.
In 1930, Ernst Graf buys opened a woodworking shop in Sulgen, specialized in the production of the Davos sledge. It is the oldest manufacturer still producing the sledge today. Graf Holzwaren AG was taken over in 2002 by Erwin Dreier, who renamed the business 3R AG in 2015.
Care has been taken to trace the ownership of any copyright material and to contact the owner. The author does not intend to infringe on anyone’s copyright for text, photos or otherwise. Anyone who feels that any item in these pages may have inadvertently breeched their copyright should advise the author via the contact sheet, including a link to the page, so that appropriate remedial action can be taken.